Local Governance Committee


The governance of a multi-academy trust differs from those of maintained schools. The White Horse Federation (TWHF) believes that placing statutory responsibilities firmly at its centre, in the remit of the board of trustees, allows the Local Governance Committee (LGC) to focus on providing support, overcoming challenges in the delivery of educational excellence, and outstanding outcomes for all pupils.

There are direct channels of communication between the principal and the LGC chair and central services. The clerk to the board of trustees will hold contact details for all members of LGCs within TWHF. However, routine communication for day-to-day school business should come from the chair of that LGC, managed by the school or through an LGC clerk.

The principal and the chair of the LGC are responsible for ensuring the quality and timely distribution of all material needed to keep LGC members well-informed about the school and TWHF. The principal and the chair are also responsible for ensuring the views of the LGC have good lines of communication to the board of trustees. This can be done via the elected chair’s representative on the board of trustees. Senior executives from TWHF will be nominated by the CEO to attend any LGC.

The White Horse Federation has a very clear and shared understanding of what constitutes good and effective governance. Schools within TWHF will be judged to have outstanding governance when members of the LGC:

  • Talk about teaching and learning.
  • Know a great deal about the school and its community.
  • Are ambitious for the school and its community.
  • Ask questions which make colleagues reflect, and that these discussions lead to delivering the very best outcomes for every child and adult within the school community.
  • Maintain strong and effective relationships within TWHF.

For the shared model of governance to be effective for TWHF and the schools, it is essential that there is effective communication between the board of trustees, the LGCs, chairs groups, principals, the central team, and the executive leadership team.

Current Local Governance Committee (LGC)

Local Governors have been elected by parents or staff or co-opted by the LGC and will serve a four-year term of office. The Principal is also a local governor.

Mrs Bryony Bardwell - Principal & Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)

Mr Lee Edmonds - Chair of Governors, Trust Appointed Governor

Mr Roderick Cherry - Chair of Governors (Designate), Trust Appointed Governor

Christopher Smith - Vice-chair, Parent Local Governor

Julia Dickenson - Trust Appointed Governor

Mrs Anna Vernon - Staff Local Governor (Teaching)

Rachel Liddiard - Staff Local Governor

Register of Interests 2023-24 and Attendance 2022-23

Name Role Interest Registered Date Interest Registered Term of Office Attendance 2022-23

Bryony Bardwell


TWHF Employee


Reconfirmed 16/01/2024



Lee Edmonds

Trust Appointed Governor / Chair

TWHF Employee

04/09/2023 10/10/2022 - 09/10/2026


Roderick Cherry

Trust Appointed Governor / Chair Designate


  22/04/2024 - 21/04/2028


Julia Dickinson Trust Appointed Governor None 30/09/2023 02/05/2023 - 01/05/2025 1/1
Christopher Smith Parent Governor Parent of a child who attends the school 24/10/2023 05/04/2022 - 04/05/2026 5/6
Rachel Liddiard Staff Governor TWHF employee 06/09/2023 01/12/2022 - 30/11/2026 3/4
Anna Vernon Staff Governor TWHF employee 30/10/2023

27/02/2019 - 26/02/2027

Re-appointed 27/02/2023


Governors Who Left in the Past 12 Months

Mark Powell Trust Appointed Governor None   17/11/2019 - 16/11/2023 6/6

The White Horse Federation Governance Information

Click on the button below to access TWHF governance information, including:

  • Annual report
  • Annual audited accounts
  • Memorandum of association
  • Articles of association
  • Names of charity trustees and members
  • Funding agreement
  • Gender Pay Gap Report
  • Higher Paid Staff reports